WFHA public meetings and events planned for the coming months include:

Date

Event

Location

Wed 12th Nov 2014 - 8:15pm

WFHA Public Meeting. Speaker TBA.

Lackagh Parish Centre.


The Association has been in existence since 1995 and has organised and held many meetings, lectures and events. Events organised in the past year are listed below. A list of previous events is available here.

Date

Event

Wed 10th Sep 2014 - 8:15pm

WFHA Public Meeting. Speaker: Joe Loughnane. Topic: The Connaught Rangers. More information.

Sat 23rd Aug 2014 - 2:00pm to 5:30pm.

Family History Open Day for Heritage Week 2014, entitled A Beginner's Guide to Family History. More information.

Wed 14th May 2014 - 8:15pm

WFHA Public Meeting. Tutorial: Online Resources for Family History. Facilitated by Gerard Naughton and Paul Greaney. More information.
An outline of the discussion is available here.

Wed 12th Mar 2014 - 8:15pm

WFHA Public Meeting. Speaker: Sean Flanagan. Topic: Finding out about my grandfather that I never knew... and more.
More information. A summary of Sean's talk is available here.

Wed 15th Jan 2014 - 8:15pm

WFHA AGM. Speaker: Finbarr O'Regan, Athenry. Topic: A Sense of Place - Through Townland Names. More information. Finbarr's website athenry.org contains a wealth of historical information on the Athenry area.

Wed 13th Nov 2013

WFHA Public Meeting - Speaker: Pauline Scott (PhD student, NUI Galway).
Topic: Agent, Tenant, Advocate and Agitator - Michael Kelly, The Burke & Pollok Estates. More information. The text of Pauline's talk is available here.

Sat 2nd & Sun 3rd Nov 2013

Memorial Cards Remembered: Members of the association and the public were invited to bring along their memorial cards for scanning. More information.

Wed 11th Sept 2013

WFHA Public Meeting - Talk by Sr. deLourdes Fahy, Gort, an expert on Genealogy, entitled Genealogy Made Easy.

Sat 17th Aug 2013

WFHA Group Visit (As part of Heritage Week) to Strokestown Park House, Roscommon.

Sun 14th Jul 2013

WFHA Group Trip - Aughrim Battlefield as part of the Aughrim Military History Summer School.

Wed 8th May 2013

WFHA Public Meeting- Talk by Dr. David Butler entitled Memorialising the Nineteenth Century Irish. His paper of the same title is now available online.

Wed 13th Mar 2013

WFHA Public Meeting - Talk by Gerry Kearney, entitled The Taylor Family of Ardrahan, based on his book, The Taylor Family of Ardrahan Post Office.

Mon 4th Feb 2013

WFHA Group Visit to the Hardiman Library at NUI Galway - Introduction to the Special Collections by Marie Boran.

Wed 16th Jan 2013

WFHA AGM. Re-launch of the WFHA Library and handover of Aodhagán Ó’Rodaigh’s collection of books.

Speaker: Michael Kelly, Ardrahan. Michael spoke about his family history research, which led to the discovery of a cousin in the United States.

Should you wish to become a member, you can contact us here or just come along to our meeting and join up there.